Restrictions Part 1

Restrictions Part 1


In this article we cover two types of restrictions, Leave Restrictions and Restricted Periods.

Leave Restrictions

Leave restrictions allows you to define groups of users and the total number of users from each group that can be off at the same time. Although you can still restrict the number of users off at the same time per workgroup, location or even the entire organisation elsewhere on LeaveWizard, using leave restriction groups or Event Restriction Periods (see below) are now the recommended way to achieve this and these alternatives should now be considered deprecated.



Creating and managing leave restriction groups is available to Administrators from 'Settings' on the main menu. Select the 'Leave Restrictions' sub menu. If no groups have been defined, you can create a new group by clicking the 'New Leave Restriction User Group'.



The 'Leave Restriction User Group Details' page has five sections. We will now examine each section and it's associated settings in detail to allow you to configure the Leave Restriction Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.

Group Name


This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.

Maximum Employees On Leave


This field allows you to enter the maximum number of users that can be off at the same time for this user group.

Workgroups


This section has two scrolling panes listing the available workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use 'Ctrl-click' to select multiple workgroups at the same time.

Employees


This section works in a similar way to the Workgroups section except it is used to select individual employees.

Submit / Cancel


These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the 'Leave Restriction Groups' page.


When you have added all the member of the group press 'Submit' and the new Leave Restriction Group will be created.




Once you have created at least one Leave Restriction Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the 'Delete' button will delete the group listed on that row. Clicking the 'Edit' button will take you to the Leave Restriction User Group Details page for the group listed on that row.



Restricted Periods


Event restriction periods allow you to define periods of time when the total number of users throughout the organisation or in a certain workgroup / custom group can be off at the same time. Although you can still restrict the number of users off at the same time per workgroup, location or even the entire organisation elsewhere on LeaveWizard, using Event Restriction Periods and Leave Restriction Groups (see above) are now the recommended way to achieve this and these alternatives should now be considered deprecated.



Creating and managing Event Restriction Periods is available to Administrators from 'Settings' on the main menu. Select the 'Restricted Periods' sub menu. If no restricted periods have been defined, you can create a new restricted period by clicking the 'New Leave Restriction Period' button.



The 'Event Restriction Period Details' page has the following fields and settings to set up the restricted period:

Name


This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the restricted period.

Applies To


This setting allows you to select the users that this restricted period will apply to from a drop down box. The choices are Entire Organisation, WorkGroup or CustomGroup. When either WorkGroup or CustomGroup is chosen an extra setting is created to enter the desired group name.

Workgroup


This setting only appears when WorkGroup is selected for the 'Applies to' field and allows the workgroup to be selected. For your convenience a link 'Add New Workgroup' is also provided to create a new workgroup if required.

User Group


This setting only appears when CustomGroup is selected for the 'Applies to' field and allows the custom group to be selected. For your convenience a link 'Add New Custom Group' is also provided to create a new custom group if required.

Start Date


This field allows you to enter a start date for the restricted period. You can also click the calendar icon to open a calendar popup to enter the date.

End Date


This field allows you to enter a end date for the restricted period. You can also click the calendar icon to open a calendar popup to enter the date.

Maximum Staff On Leave


This field allows you to enter the maximum number of users that can be off at the same time during this period.

Submit / Cancel


These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the 'Event Restriction Periods' page.

When you have completed your entries, press 'Submit' and the new event restriction period will be created.



Once you have created at least one event restriction period, you will then have the option to edit or delete restricted periods. Clicking the 'Delete' button will delete the period listed on that row. Clicking the 'Edit' button will take you to the Event Restriction Period Details page for the period listed on that row.



Feedback and Knowledge Base