Restrictions Part 2

Restrictions Part 2


In this article we cover two types of restrictions, Leave Visibility and Request Restrictions.

Leave Visibility

Leave Visibility allows you to define groups of users that are visible to a particular user even though they may be in different workgroups and not normally visible to that user.



Creating and managing Leave Visibility groups is available to Administrators from 'Settings' on the main menu. Select the 'Leave Visibility' sub menu. If no groups have been defined, you can create a new group by clicking the 'New Leave Visibility User Group'.



The 'Leave Visibility User Group Details' page has five sections. We will now examine each section and it's associated settings in detail to allow you to configure the Leave Visibility User Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.

Group Name


This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.

Visible to


This setting allows you to select the user who will gain visibility of the user group from a drop-down list. Once created the user group will be available to this user and administrators only.

Workgroups


This section has two scrolling panes listing the available workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use 'Ctrl-click' to select multiple workgroups at the same time.

Employees


This section works in a similar way to the Workgroups section except it is used to select individual employees.

Submit / Cancel


These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the 'Leave Visibility Groups' page.


When you have added all the member of the workgroup press 'Submit' and the new Leave Visibility Group will be created.



Once you have created at least one Leave Visibility Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the 'Delete' button will delete the group listed on that row. Clicking the 'Edit' button will take you to the Leave Visibility User Group Details page for the group listed on that row.



Leave visibility groups can be used to filter which events are visible on LeaveWizard. For example, on the leave by month calendar chart, you can choose just members of the leave visibility group rather than all users or members of a specific workgroup. In the workgroup drop down selection box, leave visibility groups are designated by (LV) appended to the group name to differentiate them from actual workgroups.



If you select a leave visibility user group then only members of that group will be displayed on the calendar.



Request Restrictions


Request Restrictions allows you to define groups of users that are allowed to request specific leave types. These groups are know as 'Event Type Request Restrictions User Groups'. They can either be manually created when needed or they will be created automatically when a new user is added and they are configured to be restricted from requesting a leave type.

If no Event Type Request Restriction Group exists for a leave type then all users in the company will be able to request that leave type. If a group exists, only members of the group will be able to request leave of that type.


Creating and managing Event Type Request Restrictions User Groups is available to Administrators from 'Settings' on the main menu. Select the 'Request Restrictions' sub menu. If no groups have been defined, you can create a new group by clicking 'New Event Type Request Restrictions User Group'.



The 'Event Type Request Restrictions User Group Details' page has five sections. We will now examine each section and it's associated settings in detail to allow you to configure the Event Type Request Restrictions User Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.

Group Name


This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.

Leave Types


This section has two scrolling panes listing the available Leave types and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add a leave type that members of the group will be allowed to request, select a leave type in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a leave type from the group, select a leave type in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other.

Workgroups


This section works in a similar way to the Leave Types section and has two scrolling panes listing the available workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use 'Ctrl-click' to select multiple workgroups at the same time.

Employees


This section works in a similar way to the Workgroups section except it is used to select individual employees.

Submit / Cancel


These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the 'Event Type Request Restrictions User Group' page.


When you have added all the members of the group press 'Submit' and the new Event Type Request Restrictions User Group will be created.



Once you have created at least one Event Type Request Restrictions User Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the 'Delete' button will delete the group listed on that row. Clicking the 'Edit' button will take you to the Event Type Request Restrictions User Group Details page for the group listed on that row.



Feedback and Knowledge Base