Custom Groups

Custom Groups



Custom User Groups are used to associated users with each other. You can think of them like workgroups that have users from different locations and/or workgroups. An example of how you might use them is to group together all users from Sales departments who are in different locations.



Creating and managing custom user groups is available to Administrators from 'Settings' on the main menu. Select the 'Groups' sub menu. If no custom user groups have been defined, you can create a new group by clicking the 'New Custom User Group'.



The 'Custom User Groups Details' page has four sections. We will now examine each section and it's associated settings in detail to allow you to configure the Custom Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.

Group Name


This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.

Workgroups


This section has two scrolling panes listing the available workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use 'Ctrl-click' to select multiple workgroups at the same time.

Employees


This section works in a similar way to the Workgroups section except it is used to select individual employees.

Submit / Cancel


These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the 'Custom User Groups' page.


When you have added all the members of the group press 'Submit' and the new Custom Group will be created.



Once you have created at least one Custom Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the 'Delete' button will delete the group listed on that row. Clicking the 'Edit' button will take you to the Custom User Groups Details page for the group listed on that row.



Feedback and Knowledge Base