Room Booking

Room Booking

The room booking functionality allows administrators to set up a number of rooms that can be booked by selected users. These bookings are displayed in a calendar within LeaveWizard and can also be synchronized with your external Outlook or Google Calendar.


Enable room booking

When a company is created on LeaveWizard the room booking function is disabled.





An administrator can enable it in the room booking section of the Company Settings page.





When this has been done, Room Booking will appear in the Tools section of the main menu.

   

The room booking schedule calendar

When you first enable room bookings there will be no defined rooms so the first thing you will need to do is click 'Manage Rooms' on the sub menu to create them (see below). Once you have done that they will appear on the room booking schedule calendar.




Room

This setting allows you to select which room(s) you want displayed on the schedule calendar from a drop down list. You can choose any individual room or all.

No Of Rooms/Page

This field allows you to select the maximum number of rooms that are displayed on each page of the schedule calendar. If you have selected all rooms to be displayed then the display can become crowded and you can use this setting to spread the rooms over multiple pages. The current page is shown at the bottom left of the schedule calendar along with 'Previous' and 'Next' navigation links.

The Schedule Calendar

The schedule calendar allows you to manage the bookings / appointments for each room and has the following controls:

Day / Week Selector

This control has 4 buttons. The left arrow and right arrow buttons allow you to select the previous and next days (or weeks) respectively. The 'today' button lets you jump to today's date. The down arrow button displays a calendar day picker. The selected day (or week) is shown on the right hand side of the control.

Day / Week Display Toggle Buttons

These buttons allows you to toggle between just a day being displayed or a whole week being displayed.

Show 24 hours / Show business hours

This button allows you to toggle between all 24 hours of each day being shown or just business hours.


Adding and managing bookings

You can select the booking / appointment time period by clicking on the begin time and dragging the mouse to the end time on the schedule calendar. You can clear the selected period by pressing the 'Esc' key on the keyboard. If you click on the calendar again it will also clear the current selection and start a new selection. In this example we have selected the period 09:30 - 10:30 for Conference Room A. 



Then double click the selected period to create a new appointment. You can also right click on the selected period to bring up a context menu and select the 'New Appointment' option. Enter the 'Subject' and 'Details' fields and select a 'User' from the drop down menu.



Then either click 'Insert' to create the appointment or 'Cancel' to discard.



Once you have created an appointment you can drag the box to change the appointment time.



You can also drag the top and bottom of the box to change the start and end times of the appointment.

 

You can double click the appointment to edit it. You can also right click on box to bring up a context menu and select the 'Edit' option.

You can delete the appointment by clicking the X on the top right hand side of the box. You can also right click on the box to bring up a context menu and select the 'Delete' option.

If you want to book a room for more than a day then use the 'Week' display setting on the 'Day / Week' display toggle and you can select a period that extends over multiple days.


The Room booking Sub Menu

Near the top of page, just below the main menu is the Room booking sub menu. For Line managers and Employees, although they may be allowed to book rooms they cannot manage room booking and will not get access to this menu. 





For Administrators, two buttons 'Manage Rooms' and 'Room Booking Groups' are available.
 




Manage Rooms

Clicking this button will take you to the Rooms page which displays a list of all the rooms and provides links to edit the rooms and functionality to manage room booking. Initially no rooms will be defined:



In this example we have created 2 rooms, Conference Room A and Conference Room B using the 'New Room' button.



Enable Room Booking / Access Control

This group of controls allows you to keep room booking enabled or disable it and choose which LeaveWizard role, is allowed to perform room booking. A drop down box allows you to select between Administrator, Line Manager and Employee. Click 'Submit' to update your settings.

New Room

Clicking this button allows you to create a new room on the Rooms Details page. Enter a name for the room in the 'Name' field and click 'Submit'.



Room Booking Help

Clicking this button will take you to this help article.

Room List

This is a paginated list of all the rooms with an edit link on the left hand side of each room / row. Clicking the link will take you to the Rooms Details page where you can edit the room name.


Room Booking Groups

Clicking this button will take you to the Room Booking User Groups page which allows you to create room booking user groups. These groups hold lists of users that are able to create and manage room bookings. This is in addition to the role restriction set on the Manage Rooms page. If you have restricted room booking management only to administrators you can also allow a group of line managers and employees by adding them to a group. In the example below we will allow a single line manager to manage room booking in addition to the administrators.

 


If no groups have been defined, you can create a new group by clicking the 'New Room Booking User Group'.



The 'Room Booking User Group Details' page has four sections. We will now examine each section and it's associated settings in detail to allow you to configure the Room Booking Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.

Group Name

This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.

Workgroups

This section has two scrolling panes listing the available workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use 'Ctrl-click' to select multiple workgroups at the same time.

Employees

This section works in a similar way to the Workgroups section except it is used to select individual employees.

Submit / Cancel

These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the 'Room Booking User Groups' page.


When you have added all the member of the group press 'Submit' and the new Room Booking User Group will be created.



Once you have created at least one Room Booking User Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the 'Delete' button will delete the group listed on that row. Clicking the 'Edit' button will take you to the Room Booking User Group Details page for the group listed on that row.




Feedback and Knowledge Base